Meet the Candidates

The race to elect San Diego's new local leaders is entering the final stretch. As Election Day nears the Chamber is excited to host Virtual Candidate Forums to connect the new potential elected officials with the community.

Get informed before deciding who to vote for in November!

October 6 | 5:00-6:00 PM | County Board of Supervisors, District 3

Kristin Gaspar

Kristin Gaspar was elected to the San Diego County Board of Supervisors in 2016 after serving four years on the Encinitas City Council and as the first elected mayor of Encinitas. She is a mother, community leader, and small business owner, working as CFO of her family's small business with seven locations employing nearly 150 San Diegans.

Terra Lawson-Remer

Terra Lawson-Remer is a third-generation San Diegan, who served as Senior Advisor in the U.S. Department of the Treasury during the Obama Administration. As an economist with the United Nations and World Bank, she worked around the world to create jobs, restart businesses, and generate economic activity after a crisis.

October 6 | 6:15 - 7:15 PM | 50th Congressional District

Ammar Campa-Najjar

Ammar was born in East County and raised by his working-class Christian mother. He is a small business owner and the former Executive Director of Public Affairs for the U.S. Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. In this role, he worked across the aisle with members of Congress and President Trump to ensure American small businesses were at the forefront of our nation's economic agenda.

Darrell Issa

Prior to his election to Congress, Issa was a technology industry leader and CEO. He founded Vista, California, based Directed Electronics Inc., the industry-leading manufacturer of automobile security and convenience products. Issa has served as Chairman of the Consumer Electronics Association, the Board of Governors of the Electronics Industry Association, and as Director of the San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation and the Greater San Diego County Chamber of Commerce.

October 13 | 6:15 - 7:00 PM | San Diego City Council, District 5

Joe Leventhal

Joe Leventhal is a lawyer, business owner, and U.C. San Diego alumnus running for San Diego City Council, District 5. A resident of San Diego for almost 20 years, Joe has a history of leadership in the City through his service as an Ethics Commissioner, protecting San Diego citizens and taxpayers from government ethics violations. Joe's priorities include reducing homelessness, public safety, and road repair. Joe believes that bold, collaborative leadership, as he's demonstrated throughout his life, is the best way to approach San Diego's persistent challenges. Joe looks forward to the opportunity to improve the quality of life for San Diego's citizens as a member of the City Council.

Marni Von Wilpert invited to attend, but is unavailable

October 13 | 7:00 - 7:45 PM | Mayor of San Diego

Todd Gloria

Todd Gloria doesn't come from wealth or privilege, he is a third-generation San Diegan of Filipino, Dutch, Puerto Rican, and Native American descent. He grew up in Clairemont and has spent his entire professional life in service to the public, beginning his career at the County of San Diego's Health and Human Services Agency. Todd has served two terms as a San Diego City Councilmember and as a California State Assemblymember. Known as one of the most accessible elected officials in San Diego, Todd remains in close contact with neighbors throughout his District and credits San Diegans for keeping him focused on the issues that matter most in their communities.

October 15 | 5:30 - 6:15 PM | Mayor of San Diego

Barbara Bry

A leader in the San Diego business community, Barbara taught entrepreneurship at UCSD and founded Athena San Diego, an organization that supports the advancement of women in the tech and life science sector. As a business journalist, she has also spotlighted the vibrant small business community that supports our City's economy and was honored as Small Business Journalist of the Year for San Diego and Imperial Counties by the U.S. Small Business Administration.