Presented by


The Celebration of Business is an annual event to celebrate the best and brightest of San Diego County's business community! Featuring the Leadership Awards, board installation, and silent & live auctions.

The North San Diego Business Chamber Leadership Awards honor individuals who have positively impacted another individual, a business/organization/agency, or their community. Limit two separate nominations per Member company. Must be a Member in good standing with North San Diego Business Chamber.

Awards were presented to the winners at our Annual Celebration of Business dinner on June 27, 2018 at the Bernardo Winery.

2018 Leaders of the Year

Michiko Araki
Sony Electronics

Laura Ash
Sony Electronics

Gerry Borja

Edward Hadfield
Rincon Fire Department

Neal Hoss
Cal State San Marcos

Reema Poddar

Dr. Eunice Sanchez-Mata
Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group

Tony Teravainen
Support The Enlisted Project (STEP)

Katherine Zimmer
Visit Escondido


  • Stefanie Alberts, Bridge 2 Break Through
  • Michiko Araki, Sony Electronics
  • Phil Arnold, Brandman University
  • Laura Ash, Sony Electronics
  • Gerry Borja, Oracle
  • Tristram Coffin, Bill Howe Plumbing, Inc.
  • Jeb Dasteel, Oracle
  • Laurie Edwards-Tate, At Your Home Familycare
  • Bryan Evers, USA Veterans Real Estate and Mortgage Company
  • Michael Fasulo, Sony Electronics
  • Jodie Grenier, Foundation for Women Warriors
  • Edward Hadfield, Rincon Fire Department
  • Neal Hoss, Cal State San Marcos
  • Jan Jones, The Elizabeth Hospice
  • Ned Khalife, Rancho Bernardo Inn
  • Matthew Parnell, Sony Electronics
  • Leila Naderi, Global Leadership Academy
  • Fred Nasseri, Unicorn Jewelry & Watch Boutique
  • Emily Pippin, Academy of Our Lady of Peace
  • Reema Poddar, Teradata
  • Dave Rosenberg, Locked on Leadership
  • Dr. Eunice Sanchez-Mata, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group
  • Fred Schippa, Rise Consulting Group
  • Nathan Schmidt, San Diego County Credit Union
  • Scott Starost, SDTEK
  • Tony Teravainen, Support The Enlisted Project (STEP)
  • Glenn Torrez, PRAVA Construction Services, Inc.
  • Peter Zien, AleSmith Brewing Co.
  • Katherine Zimmer, Visit Escondido

Upcoming Event

Stay tuned for information on our June 2019 event.

Thank You to Our Partners

Presenting Partner


Gold Partners


Silver Partners


Bronze Partners

Pacific Western Bank

Past Photos

2017 Business Achievement Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Bob McClure, San Diego Zoo Safari Park
  • Adrienne Streeter, Streeter Printing
  • Steve Wagner, Stone Brewing

Emerging Leaders of the Year

  • Nathan Clookie, American Cancer Society
  • Virginia Morrison, Second Chance Beer Company
  • Dr. Lindsay Pfeffer, I-Ortho San Diego
  • Beau Swanson, Harrah’s Resort Southern California

Business Leaders of the Year

  • Lynelle Lynch, Bellus Academy
  • Arthur Moreau III, Klinedinst PC
  • Marshall Tanneberger, San Diego Metropolitan Credit Union
  • Jerry Van Leeuwen, California Center for the Arts, Escondido

Think Local First Champion of the Year

  • Koi Zen Cellars Craft Winery

Business of the Year

  • Brian Davey DDS, Inc.
  • Harrah’s Resort Southern California
  • Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Centers

Volunteer of the Year

  • Bill Loeber, Operation Connect Curriculum Director

Healthiest Business of the Year

  • Petco

2016 Business Achievement Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Rick Rubin, Michael Baker International
  • Lynn Wells, Toby Wells Blue Apple Ranch

Emerging Leader of the Year

  • Tyler Sandstrom, New Pointe Communities

Business Leaders of the Year

  • Teresa Halleck, San Diego County Credit Union
  • Mike Rowan, Goodwill San Diego County
  • Glenn Torrez, Prava Construction Services

Think Local First Champion of the Year

  • Susan Burchardt, San Diego Gas & Electric

Business of the Year

  • Abnormal Company
  • USSD Team Focus 4S Ranch

Volunteer of the Year

  • Judy Corasaniti, College Planning Source

Healthiest Business of the Year

  • Sharp Health Plan

2015 Business Achievement Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Donald Balfour, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Centers
  • Janet Beronio, Harrah's Resort Southern California 

Emerging Leaders of the Year

  • Jason Cestaro, Mercedes-Benz of Escondido
  • Giordin Perlman, Northrop Grumman
  • Ron Zuccaro, BAE Systems

Business Leaders of the Year

  • Ric Militi, InnoVision Marketing Group
  • Pablo Gonzalez, Northrop Grumman
  • Stacey Hrountas, Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group

Think Local First Champions of the Year

  • Active Digital Signage
  • Unicorn Jewelry and Watch Boutique

Collaborators of the Year

  • Burn Institute
  • Patricia Reily, California State University San Marcos

Sustainability Champions of the Year

  • Cox Communications
  • San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
  • Linda Strand, Independent Energy Solutions, Inc.

Community Champions of the Year

  • Bill Loeber, Hewlett-Packard
  • Millennium Health
  • San Diego County Credit Union

Healthiest Business of the Year

  • Cooking 4 Life